TSP Members,

I am honored to serve you as the 2023-2024 President of the Texas Society of Pathologists. In our 103 years as a pathologist physician organization, the TSP has supported our members, advocated for our patients, and inspired new generations of leadership in pathology. This year we will continue that strong work as we strengthen our society and guide our members through the challenging healthcare landscape.

At the TSP Annual Meeting earlier this year, we gathered together in the same location as our last meeting before the COVID pandemic. While it was wonderful to see so many familiar faces and meet new colleagues, it was a bittersweet reminder of pre-pandemic times. We are happy to report that we had record attendance in terms of members and vendors. In addition, the academic program was excellent. We are grateful for all of the hard work our members and staff contributed to make the meeting a success.

In terms of advocacy, the Texas legislature is currently in session (which happens every two years). With the help of the TMA and our lobbyist, we continue to advocate for pathology and our patients by attending “First Tuesday” events at the Capital in Austin. I would encourage you to get involved in these events to make sure our voice is heard! Please save the date for our next two gatherings: the Young Pathologist Section Retreat on August 25-27 at the Hyatt Hill Country in San Antonio and the 2024 TSP meeting on February 2-4 (location TBD).

As a second-generation Texas pathologist, I recognize the value of our rich history and look forward to drawing from our past to help us grow our future. On behalf of the TSP Board, I thank you for your membership, your commitment to advancing our specialty, and everything you do to deliver excellent patient care. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to support you in your work.


C. Leilani Valdes, MD, MBA, FCAP



C. Leilani Valdes, MD
Regional Pathology Associates
Victoria, Texas


Victor Prieto, MD, PhD
UT - MD Anderson Cancer Center

Houston, Texas

Vice President

Raul Benavides, MD
Core Lab
Dallas, Texas

Directors at Large

Melora Berardo, MD (2022, 2023)
Pathology Reference Laboratory Group
San Antonio, Texas

Jason Schmidt, MD (2022, 2023)
Laboratory Physician Associates
Dallas, Texas


Suntrea Hammer, MD
UT Southwestern
Dallas, Texas


Megan Kressin, MD
Clinical Pathology Associates
Austin, Texas

Immediate Past President

Sue Baer, MD
Clinical Pathology Associates
Austin, Texas

Directors at Large

Justin Bishop, MD (2023)
UT Southwestern
Dallas, Texas

Julia Choi, MD (YPS Chair: Non-voting)
Clinical Pathology Associates
Austin, Texas